The biggest event in the village for this year is already gone. It was a huge Fasnet parade involving 48 groups from all over the region, including one group from Switzerland. The Swabian-Alemannic Fasnet (carnival) is very different from the Rhineland carnival which is more well-known. Most characteristic for the Fasnet (as opposed to carnival) are the masks. When you look close you see that each single mask is unique. They are handmade and thus very valuable.

Unfortunately it was raining heavily on the day (I felt truly sorry for the organizers) and so I went home after watching a little more than half the parade. Even though I had dressed in my warmest clothes I was wet through. Anyway, I hope that with these photos and videos you get a good impression of what makes the Fasnet special.

